about.

Hey, y’all.

I’m Meryl! I’m your pretty average 25 year old girl and am usually described as Italian, awkward and enthusiastic.  I’ll take it 🙂 This blog is a reflection of what’s going on in my life- which means we’re going to jump around alot.  I have a hard time staying focused on one thing! Some things about me:

I married the first boy I ever fell in love with when I was 19 and we’ve been trucking along ever since. Marriage has taught us that life is not easy or fun sometimes- but it can be worth it as long as you let it make you a better person and allow it to give you the capacity to love deeper than you did before.  But alot of times, it’s awesome and that’s pretty cool too.  He is wonderful, HOTT and has an epic beard.  I am kind of his biggest fan.

my man!

 We have two children who are actually dogs, but don’t tell them that.  They are the best puppies ever and they bring us so much joy and laughter.  I’m not sure if it’s because we ruined them by treating them like people or because they were born this awesome, but they are the weirdest and sweetest dogs you will ever let lick your face.  We found Kinston (the red one) outside of a grocery store in Kinston, NC.  We just adopted Brock (the black one) about a year ago from an animal shelter and named him after Brock Lessnar the UFC fighter.  I love that stuff.

Kinston and Brock

My husband and I met in North Carolina where both of our families live, but sold most of our belongings and moved across country to Denver, Colorado about two years ago.  We LOVE it here.  We miss all things from the south (sweet tea and bluegrass, what?!) and our families, but this has become home for us.  We are starting to find our place and make amazing friends.  I’m sure you will read about our adventures along the way.  I was born in New Jersey and have no accent whatsoever, but love the word y’all.  I’m pretty sure all of the places I’ve lived have canceled eachother out in the accent department.

everything we arrived to colorado with- packed in that trailer!

I am very italian and love my family more than anything.  When my little brother was born, my parents bought me a “#1 Big Sister” shirt and I have taken this role seriously ever since.  I inherited amazing siblings on my husbands side who have made me an aunt to three (soon to be four!) nieces and nephews.  I may or may not have purchased myself a “#1 Aunt” shirt.

My big girl job is kind of awesome and I love it! I work as a Program Manager and manage contracts for the Government.  While I know that sounds really James Bond like, it’s really more centered around Human Resources and proposal writing than being an international spy.  It allows me to make unlimited lists while still getting to work with people.  Best job ever.

Last but not least- music is a big part of my life.  You can read more about that in the music section, but I thought it deserved an honorable mention.  It keeps me less crazy than I would be normally and really allows me to connect with my Jesus in a way I don’t think I would be able to do without it.

There you have it, folks! thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s